National Commission on Small Arms Board inaugurated

A 14-member board of the National Commission on Small Arms has been inaugurated by the Ministry of Interior to steer the affairs of the Commission for the next four years.

The Board which is chaired by Brig-Gen Francis Agyemfra (Rtd) will advise the Commission and ensure the effective implementation of the laws and regulations pertaining to small arms control and related issues in the country.

Swearing in the Board at a short ceremony on the 27th of March, 2015, Deputy Interior Minister, James Agalga noted that, “this Board would team up with management to advice strategies particularly to help prevent illicit manufacture and trading in small arms’.According to him strengthening of Ghana’s import and export controls on small arms and establishing adequate database on small arms and light weapons will enable adequate account for arms in circulation, as well as inform policy.

Mr. Agalga further warned that “it is only when issues of arms control are properly addressed that we can reduce armed violence and its negative impact on the socio-economic and human development of our nation”.

The Ghana National Commission on Small Arms is an institution set up by government to ensure Ghana is free, safe and secured from illicit weapons. Its core mission is to prevent, combat and eradicate the proliferation of illegally held small arms in the country.

The other members of the Board are; Naa Gomah Ahmed, Col. MKG Asante, Lt. Col Y. Benning, Ms Jane Gasu Aheto, Mr. Ebenezer Sam, Ms. Evelyn Keelson and Emmanuel Sitso Quarqu Tangah.

The rest are; COP. Prosper Agblor, SUPT. Wilfred Boahen Frimpong, Mr. Felix Yaw Sarpong, Mr. Foster Appenteng, Mr. Baffour D. Amoa and Mr. Jones Applerh (Executive Director of the Small Arms Commission).


Source: citifmonline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *