Wa All Stars win 2015/16 GPL

Wa All Stars on Wednesday September 14 beat Aduana Stars by two goals to one to win the Ghana Premier League title for the first time at the Malik Jabir Park.

The home side seemed to have blown away that once-in-a-lifetime opportunity after they failed to convert a spot kick. They took the lead after only four minutes after Paul de Vries Asare scored from open play.

Aduana, who themselves desperately needed at least a point from the game, fought hard for the equaliser and were rewarded in the 10th minute from the mercurial Bright Adjei, whose goals have earned him honours this season.

The home side were awarded a penalty in the 20th minute but that was wasted by Richard Arthur.

Both sides huffed and puffed for the winner until the 83rd minute when Wa All Stars benefited from another penalty which was expertly converted by Sadiq Alhassan.

Aduana failed to equalise, handing Wa All Stars their first ever league title.

The final game of the season will see Wa All Stars play Sekondi Hasaacas at the Essipong Sports Stadium.


Source: ClassFMonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *